Adventures of quilting


Hello to all. This is my first time ever writing a blog. So…if I make any mistakes…just bear with me. I thought I would write a blog on my adventures working on client quilts and once in a while I might have one of my own projects into the mix.

All of my clients are such super nice people and I can see the love of the art of making a quilt. But sometimes they will make mistakes or even I will make a mistake in the quilting.

The current quilt I am quilting now is made from Batiks and hand dyed fabrics which can sometimes be a chore to quilt. This quilt I had a very difficult time deciding what to quilt in the blocks. The client made a beautiful butterfly embroidered medalion center…which I echo quilted and it turned out pretty good. The other blocks are flying geese blocks which are nice, but she didn’t set them in a particular design so it was difficult deciding what to quilt in them to make the whole quilt look uniform. I decided to do do a couple chevron lines in each ‘geese’ and then the sides I did a loopy meander. I thought the loopy meander would fit in with the butterfly…’flight of the butterfly’…lol. My biggest problem on this quilt is keeping the tension nice. The whole backing of the quilt is a hand dyed fabric and it is just not doing my thread tension good at all. I then decided to do some nice uniform feathers in an outside border. I will be taking it off the frame in the next hour or so…I hope I don’t have to take out any stitching that isn’t ‘setting’ right because of the tension. Wish me luck. I will take pics of each of my quilts that I blog about and maybe you can help give me some ideas. Don’t forget…Life is good.

www.quiltedtreasures.org

4 Comments

  1. Deborah Schriber-Barkley

    I can’t wait to see the pictures!!!
    Your quilting is always lovely!

    • Thanks so much Deborah….I need to find time to get the pics uploaded. Tell me how your friend that you made the quilt for….was she happy with your gift? I hadn’t heard and was being nosey…did you get any pics? OK…off to bed so I can get up early and get more quilting done. I have 3 large ones to do plus one gals has 20….yes 20 of them for me to do…she needs them by spring, so I guess I will be busy. Life is good…

  2. WANDA

    HEY DARLENE, GREETINGS FROM KENTUCKY! IT HAS BEEN COLD AND SNOWY HERE. BUT THE TEMPS ARE ON THE RISE. IN THE 50’S TOMORROW. I LOVE YOUR QUILTED TREASURE PAGE AND THE BEAUTIFUL QUILTS YOU HAVE QUILTED. I SHOULD KNOW YOU HAVE QUILTED FOR ME MANY TIMES. I HAVE SEEN YOUR BEAUTIFUL QUILTING TIME AND AGAIN.
    I CAN’T TELL YOU HOW MUCH I MISS YOU AND ALL THE GIRLS FROM COUNTRY CUT-UPS, I THINK ABOUT YOU EVERY DAY. THANK YOU FOR SENDING ME YOUR BLOG PAGE I THINK IT WILL BE A HIT! LOVE YA! WANDA

    • Oh Wanda, I miss you too. Each time I go by your old house I want to honk to say hi…lol. When is your next trip up? I am glad you approve of my blog…not into this kind of thing, but I am gonna try it. Love ya……lots

Leave a Reply

